Skip to content

the fairy godmother is in

June 10, 2010

My cousin and her husband have given me the honor and privilege of being godmother to their first child.  Little Lucia (Lu-chee-ah) was baptized on the Feast of Corpus Christi.  She squirmed in her mother’s arms as Fr. Bozung poured the holy water over her head.  I looked over at Cecilia2 and Curt who were smiling down at their beloved daughter while listening intently to the beautiful words of the sacrament.  My eyes filled with tears as my cousins gave their precious little girl the most beautiful gift a parent can give: the gift of faith.

Lucia is off to a great start on her journey to sainthood, which is good because Cecilia and Curt told me that if Lucia doesn’t become a saint, they are blaming me since I’m her godmother!  (I forgot to ask her godfather if they mentioned anything to him or if the pressure is all on me…)

Anyhow, I’m determined to be Lucia’s fairy godmother.  Every girl needs a fairy godmother!  Cinderella’s fairy godmother offered her the riches of the world so she could become a princess and live happily ever after in a castle.  I get to offer Lucia the riches of our Catholic faith so that she will recognize her dignity and worth as a daughter of God and live happily ever after in the eternal throne room of heaven.

I don’t have a magic wand or any magic words to change rags into gowns and glass slippers, but don’t underestimate what this fairy godmother can do!  I don’t need no stinkin’ magic!  I have the power of prayer and the grace of the sacraments.  My goddaughter will be “clothed in strength and dignity” (Proverbs 31:25).  Glass slippers? Ha!  She’ll have the gospel of peace to protect her little feet – the most  stylish and feminine version available, but part of the necessary armor of God nonetheless (Ephesians 6).

Step aside, Ms. Bibbidi-bobbidi-boo!  There’s a new fairy godmother in town!  She’s got a rosary in one hand, the Word of God in the other and is backed by the communion of saints!  Oh, and did I mention the support of “The Godfather”?  Yea, him too!

If you can’t tell, I’m taking this very seriously.  Really – I am.  The Church is rich with treasures of truth and traditions, and as Lucia’s fairy godmother, I will make sure she has access to it all.

It’s official: the fairy godmother is in!

"The Godfather", the fairy godmother and our goddaughter

Have your say...

