Skip to content

casablanca days

June 16, 2010

“It’s such a Casablanca day!” I told my co-worker as we looked out at the heavy fog early one morning.  “I love days when it feels like we’re living in a black-and-white movie, and today is one of those days!  Everything is gray; the colors are muted, giving the world an antiqued look…” I sighed dreamily.

My co-worker looked at me with wide eyes.  “I never thought about it like that!  I usually look at the gray and fog and get frustrated.”  She paused, “But that’s a good way to think about gloomy days.

There is beauty in every moment, even when it’s not obvious, I said to myself as she walked away.  What can I say?  The romantic in me loves rainy days just as much as the sun-filled ones.

If only I could relate that same appreciation for the gloriously romantic fog outside my window to those real life situations that are enveloped in uncertainty – the ones where everything seems hazy and unclear, where there are no discernible paths or even obvious outcomes.  While there may be a similarity, I don’t find those murky circumstances as enjoyable as gloomy days.

But I suppose there is a beauty in the unknown: a hidden adventure that will slowly manifest itself as the journey continues.  As with a misty morning, the fog will soon lift.  The world will cast off its antiquity, revealing its colorful vibrance, along with a clearer sense of direction and purpose.

In the meantime, I will try to enjoy the mystery and character of the random and somewhat vague opportunities in my life, instead of becoming frustrated by the bleak unknown.  Hopefully I will grow to love those Casablanca situations just as much as I love Casablanca days!

photo c/o Seth Saith

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 8:36 am

    Well written, dear Cecilia.

Have your say...

