Skip to content

flip-flops and sweaters

June 24, 2010

“So now where are we going?” Angie asked a few weeks ago as we walked out of Starbucks, finally ready to start our errands.

“I was going to stop at Old Navy,” I said. “I wanted to see if they have any of those flippy-floppy thingies.”

“Flippy-floppy thingies?” Ang questioned.

“Yea, flippy-floppy thingies.  That’s their official name.” Rosario said.

“Everyone just calls them flip-flops for short,” I added, “but Rose is right: they are really called flippy-floppy thingies.” I knew Angie was rolling her eyes in the back seat, but we stuck to our story.

I pulled into a parking spot.  We gathered our purses and slowly got out of the car.

“Oh Ang,” I said, trying to catch her before she shut the car door.  “Could you grab my little sweatery thingy.  It’s in the back seat next to you.  I know it’s going to be cold in the mall so I should take it with me.”

Angie sat back in her seat and gave me one of her looks. “Sweatery thingy?”

I smiled. “That’s its official name, Ang.  Everyone just calls it a sweater for short.”

“Yea, sometimes saying ‘sweatery thingy’ takes too long,” Rosario said. “Just like flippy-floppy thingies.”

Angie handed me the sweater as she rolled her eyes again.  She was completely exasperated.  “I never believe anything either of you say!”

“Really, Ang.” Rosario insisted. “Those are their official names!”

I opened the door to the mall with my sweatery thingy in hand, and we were off on our mission to find some flippy-floppy thingies.  The store used the shortened version of the name, but I found what I was looking for.  The short versions may be quicker to say, but the official names are much more fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    June 29, 2010 10:38 am

    I love you girls :)

Have your say...

