Skip to content

the little things in life

July 9, 2010

“I’m going to get my hairs cut,” my co-worker announced as he headed toward the door.

“Have fun!”  I responded.

“I wouldn’t say getting a haircut is necessarily fun.”

I thought for a moment.  “Well, I always have fun when I get a haircut.”

“Yeah, but you always find joy in the little things,” he said and walked out the door.

I do, don’t I? I thought to myself.  And why not? It’s the little things that make up the bulk of my life.  I can easily imagine how empty life would be if I only found joy in grandiose moments because I lived that emptiness for years.

I was discontent as I meandered through daily life.  I was so focused on the next major crossroad that I failed to see the immense beauty that surrounded me.  I caught a glimpse once in a while, but found myself annoyed by the distraction, and I feared any distraction that might cause me to miss whatever it was I was waiting for.  It was a miserable existence, until I read Proverbs 31:25 and decided to become a woman who laughs at the days to come.

I was amazed to find myself surrounded by beauty when I finally turned my gaze from the future let myself live in the present moment.  Soon even the most monotonous moments were overflowing with joy.  This revelation hasn’t distracted me from major life events as I had once feared.  Since I’ve learned to enjoy life as it happens, I appreciate the big moments more than ever.

Still, it’s the everyday moments that make my life worth living.  Simple pleasures and the little things in life keep my days full of excitement and joy.  Even the most boring tasks, such as a haircut, are an opportunity for adventure and fun.

My co-worker was quite right: I always find joy in the little things.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    July 11, 2010 10:26 pm

    That’s one of the things I love about you.

Have your say...

