Skip to content

running with the fireflies

July 27, 2010

I went for a run last night, my final run with a thirty-year-old body.  I headed out as soon as I got home, which was around dusk.  Dusk on a Michigan summer evening is after 9 PM.  The air was still warm, but not overwhelmingly hot.  I kept my pace to the rhythm of my favorite running music, as I ran off into the sunset.

It was a glorious run.  I didn’t take my usual route, but I stuck to familiar, well-lit roads since it was getting darker.  The pink radiance of the setting sun faded slowly and as it did, the yellow twinkling lights around my feet shone brighter.  No – I was not wearing light-up shoes!  I was running with the fireflies!  I ran with the fireflies a few times earlier this summer, but it had been many weeks since I’d had that pleasure.  Last night was an unexpected treat, and a beautiful way to end my thirtieth year.

It was a year with plenty of challenges and obstacles, but even the most frustrating moments were peppered with glimpses of hope and the fulfillment of God’s promise.  Much like the fireflies from last night, these glimpses shone brightly in the muted glow of reality, bringing a smile to my face and giving me the energy I needed to push through.

Thirty-one will have its own set of challenges, to be sure, but God is faithful.  And I’m excited for the adventure at hand: I’ve got my running shoes on, my soundtrack is playing, and I’m ready for another year of running with the fireflies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    July 27, 2010 9:21 pm

    Fireflies sound like lovely running companions :) Love you and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Trackbacks

  1. ~7 Quick Takes Friday – Episode 8~ | Dance Immaculata

Have your say...

