Skip to content

the small-scale adventures of cecilia bedelia

August 3, 2010

I have been quite content for the past thirty years to live a life of small-scale adventures.  Although I desired grand adventures, my cautious nature continued to win over my adventurous side, which kept me from taking the necessary risk for escapades of a larger magnitude.  But not anymore.

I decided on my birthday, or rather the night before, that I was going to make some changes.  I promised myself that year Thirty-One will be different. There will be no more living according to the what ifs: I will emerge from my comfort zone, take risks and be open to new, non-formulaic (and even daunting) adventures.  Why the change of attitude?  Well, let’s just say there is a feisty element to my disposition that has been all riled up ever since the revelation of last month.

I haven’t completely abandoned the wisdom of caution and reason in favor of a reckless existence, but I am learning to step out of my comfort zone.  Take last week, for instance.  I tried a different brand of hummus!  Now I realize it doesn’t sound like much (Baby steps, people! Baby steps!) but trying a new brand of hummus isn’t a trivial thing considering I put it on almost everything – fresh veggies, crackers, turkey burgers (or any kind of burger), sandwiches, etc.  And I fully admit I’m kind of picky when it comes to hummus.  Ok, so it wasn’t that big of a deal, but I still took a chance on a new brand of hummus.  And it turned out fairly well…

I also took a bold step out of my comfort zone last week when I ventured out to investigate our power outage.  Normally I’d be content to assess the situation (no power) and make the best of it (light emergency candles, open a bottle of wine, grab a good book), but the Consumers Energy guy was parked in my driveway and I wanted to know why.  Through my investigation, I not only discovered the explanation for the power outage (a tree branch had fallen on a power line a few houses down and power had to be cut before the branch could be removed), but I also met my lovely neighbor from across the street who joined me on my mission.

I know these risks don’t seem all that… well… risky, but a woman’s gotta start somewhere.  My small-scale adventures will slowly give way to more thrilling and risky ones, but I’m not going to give up the minute ones entirely.  The more I emerge from my comfort zone in every day settings, the easier it will be when those daunting adventures present themselves in the coming months.

No comments yet

Have your say...

