Skip to content

cecilia bedelia goes on a journey

August 18, 2010

As important as life’s destination is, so too is the journey.  One can’t arrive to a place without getting there somehow.

There are times in my life when I’m so focused on the journey that I forget about my destination.  I will either get turned around or meander aimlessly without purpose.  Other times, all I can think about is where I’m going.  I become impatient and frustrated with delays or detours because I’m so excited to get there, wherever there is.  My life is much more enjoyable when I can appreciate the journey as much as the destination.

With this in mind, my adventure to New York City begins today.  I’ll only be there for a few days (I come home on Sunday), but it is a journey nonetheless.  I am traveling with my dear friend, Amanda, and her husband, David.  We will spend the night with friends in Steubenville, OH and arrive in the city tomorrow.  As much as I would love to take the quickest route to our mini-vacation site, I am looking forward to the road trip and savoring the process of “getting there”.

This may not be a substantial trip, but it will be a significant step out of my comfort zone (I’m doing dance research while I’m there).  Time will reveal the full impact of this journey.  Until then, I’m going to enjoy the ride!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    August 19, 2010 9:38 am

    I’ve seen similiar shots like that before!! And been along for the fun too, sniff! Have FUN!!

Have your say...

