Skip to content

the great eggplant debacle ends here

September 8, 2010

Last year, I shared with you, my fantastic and faithful readers, the pitiful saga of my eggplant-related woes.  This year, I am pleased to inform you that the squash that squashed my seven-year-old self’s dreams (aka the Evil Eggplant Parmesan) has redeemed itself!

It’s true!  At times, I can hardly believe it myself, but the eggplant curse which held me back from my dreams of becoming a ballet dancer is no more!  How did this all come about?  Well…

On my recent adventure in New York City, I was offered Eggplant Parmesan by my hostess.  I didn’t want to be rude – she went through all that trouble to make us dinner – so I accepted a plate of the infamous food.  But first I related the entire story of why I detested the vegetable.  My friends confirmed what I knew in my heart: it was time to move on.

So I ate it.  Not only was it palatable, I actually liked it!  It was delicious!  I was so excited!  I could have cried tears of joy right then and there, because you know what this means, right?  I can finally be a ballerina!!!  I felt like I had been handed my dreams on a silver platter and told to dance away.

Well… yesterday, I began my first semester in the open division classes at the Grand Rapids Ballet.  I realize the Eggplant Debacle wasn’t really holding me back from dancing (I had already visited the class at GRB), but I think it is hilarious that for years I truly believed in order to be a ballerina I had to eat Eggplant Parmesan and after I’ve eaten it my dreams are becoming a reality!

The Great Eggplant Debacle is over!  The Eggplant Curse has lifted!  My Eggplant-Related Woes are no more!  I think I’m going to celebrate at the barre!

photo by Deanna Rae Photography

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Zach Tolan permalink
    September 9, 2010 2:40 am

    Haha, I love how “The Great Eggplant Debacle” and your “Eggplant Related Woes” are proper nouns. :)

    Cute blog! Lighthearted and brave… makes me want to celebrate at the “barre.” Lol!

  2. Zach Tolan permalink
    September 9, 2010 2:46 am

    On further thought, the whole story is really quite a symbol for a lot of things in life. I bet they are not always as tangible as something like Eggplant Parmasean holding one back, but I bet many things we think are holding us back from success are equally silly obstacles only because we believe they are.

    I think it’s a profound metaphor. :)

  3. September 9, 2010 6:34 am

    Either we believe silly obstacles are holding us back or we let them hold us back out of fear. Whatever the reason, you are right – it can be related to many other instances in life. :)

  4. Blue Green permalink
    September 10, 2010 7:42 pm

    C,

    I told you when you were seven that ballerinas eat their eggplant parmesan: now that you are a ballerina, you have partaken of the parmesan purple fruit.

    See, Dad is always right.

Have your say...

