Skip to content

practicing trust: lesson one

October 1, 2010

If there’s one thing I learned during the month of September, it’s trust.  Ugh!  Trust.  So not my favorite subject!  I’ve never been good at it, but this month I’ve gotten a lot of practice.

My lessons in trust started early in the month when God decided to remind me that I can trust my own insight, knowledge and talents when I got stuck in one of the elevators at work.   I was running a quick errand on my afternoon break and was a little concerned when the elevator stopped and the door didn’t open.  I wasn’t even sure if I had made it to the first floor or if I was between floors.  None of the lights on the control panel were lit, so I took that as confirmation that I was safely on Fl. 1.

I pressed the button for the lobby hoping it would trigger the door, but nothing happened.  I groaned.  “Are you kidding me?”  I glanced at the emergency phone and sighed.  I really wanted to avoid making the call… I looked at the control panel and pressed the first floor button again to no avail.  I was running out of ideas and staring to get nervous.  I searched the control panel, hoping for inspiration.  My eyes landed on the Open Door button.  I gave it a try.  The elevator door squeaked as it retracted.  Relief flooded over me and I released the breath I hadn’t realized I was holding.  I hadn’t gotten to the point where I wanted to kiss the ground when I finally escaped from the elevator car, and I was certainly glad it didn’t come to that.

The whole ordeal lasted about ten or fifteen seconds and that was enough! As I hurried to the café down the street, I couldn’t help but think Ok, seriously God – what was the point of that???!!!  I know there are always little annoyances in life, but I don’t understand what getting stuck on an elevator for a few seconds will to teach me! I kept my wits about me and figured out how to get outta there… It’s not like I panicked or anything.

Well I may not have panicked that time, but I have in the past.  God has put me in situations that stretch me beyond myself.  My first reaction is to doubt my ability to handle the challenging circumstances at hand.  That’s when I usually panic.  But I didn’t panic in the elevator.  Sure I was a little nervous, but it wasn’t a big deal.  God had already given me everything I needed to open the doors.  In the same way, He has given me all that is necessary to open other seemingly closed doors.  I just have to trust in my capability to open the door and walk through.

I learned a lot from those extra ten or fifteen seconds on the elevator, but I hope that never happens again.  Thankfully God chose not to use the elevator for the rest of the months lessons..

No comments yet

Have your say...

