Skip to content

vehicle safety advice

October 8, 2010

My dad is affectionately known as The Safety Guy.  He has emphasized the importance of good safety habits since we were quite young.  We’ve all grown accustomed to answering random safety related questions, closely followed by a safety lecture.  I figured I would hear a lecture at some point during our four hour drive to Mundelein.

Still, I was a little taken aback when Dad, who was sitting shotgun, turned to me just as I was about to turn onto the entrance ramp to the expressway and asked, “Do you have a fire extinguisher?”

“Nooo…” I groaned inwardly, thinking What the heck?!  Oh, no… here it comes!  We’re not even on the road five minutes and he’s going lecture me on vehicle safety!  Seriously?  Do I really need a fire extinguisher? Before I could stop myself, I asked, “Why?”

“Cause my butt’s on fire!” he exclaimed.  “I don’t know what’s going on, but I really think my backside caught fire!”

Mom, Ang and I couldn’t stop laughing.  That was not the response I was expecting!

“I’m sorry, Dad!  I must have turned the seat on accidentally!”  I quickly reached over and turned the off the heated seat function.  “That was hilarious!  And I thought you were going to go into some safety rant and tell me why I need a fire extinguisher in my car!”

“Well you do need one if you are going to set your passengers’ butts on fire!”

Nothing like vehicle safety advice from our resident Safety Guy!  At least it wasn’t another safety lecture!  As much as I love learning about that stuff, I don’t think I could’ve handled that before my morning latte!

Aside: Here’s a shout-out to whomever spent last evening perusing the archives!  I hope you are enjoying your time here!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:48 pm

    LOL!! I remember sitting my my aunt car in 6th grade and thinking I must have just peed my pants! I didn’t know heated seats were even an invention!

Have your say...

