Skip to content

the delicate haze of falling snow

November 5, 2010

Tears filled my eyes today as the first snowflakes of the season danced outside my window.  But unlike most who walked through the lobby and grumbled at the flurries, mine were tears of joy.  I had forgotten how beautiful the world looks through the delicate haze of falling snow.

“I wouldn’t mind the snow,” my co-worker said, “if I was at home wrapped in a blanket and reading a book.”  I wouldn’t have minded that either, but I wanted to dance amid the snowflakes first and then curl up with my favorite blanket, a good book and a cup of Lady Gray tea.

I love that winter forces me indoors, not just physically but spiritually as well.  It offers moments of quiet reflection and contemplation, especially after a blizzard-like storm when the lovely contours of the earth are accented under the fresh white blanket of snow.

Winter allows me the opportunity to indulge in the comfort and joy of my family and friends, surrounding myself with those I love in an effort to keep myself warm.  As Terry McKay said in An Affair to Remember, “Winter must be cold for those with no warm memories…”  But for me it’s not just beloved memories; it’s also the delight of the present moment and thrill of future endeavors, that will get me through the frigid, bleak months I love so well.

Today’s flurries were nothing significant, but the first snowfall is always stirring and romantic.  I relished every moment of it.  I am excited and ready for the intense, often understated beauty of winter, as shown by my tears of joy over a light dusting of snow.

No comments yet

Have your say...

