Skip to content

imagination insured

December 1, 2010

I drove through a somewhat empty parking lot the other day and was reminded of driving lessons with Mom as I cut across a few parking spaces to save time.

Back when I had my learner’s permit, Mom took me to an empty church parking lot to practice.  There was a row of parking spaces along the far sides, with a double row of spaces in the middle.  I practiced parking a few times and then around and around I went in our old blue Aerostar minivan, circling the middle two rows.  At one point, I turned the corner a little close.

Mom totally freaked out.  “CECILIA!!!  You just hit those imaginary cars!”

“Don’t worry, Mom!” I said flippantly.  “The insurance will cover it!”

“Oh no they won’t!  Not if they had been real cars!”

“If they had been real cars I would’ve made a wider turn.  But I’m pretty sure our insurance will cover imaginary damage from imaginary cars.”  I was sure there was an imaginary clause about in our policy.  I don’t know what shocked Mom more: that I carelessly ran into imaginary cars or my casual response.  I still think about all those imaginary cars I run into whenever I cut across empty parking spaces, and it makes me chuckle every single time, mostly because I can still hear the panic in Mom’s voice.

I’ve gotten pretty good at maneuvering around cars both real and imaginary, but I should probably check my current insurance policy to make sure there is an imaginary clause… just in case…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:05 am

    Hay Cecilia, Traviesa!!

  2. Cristin Luea permalink
    December 4, 2010 11:03 am

    My mom was always hitting the imaginary brake pedal on the passenger’s side :)

Have your say...

