Skip to content

attainable resolutions for 2011

December 30, 2010

I’m not one to make a vast list of impossible New Year’s resolutions.  It’s not that I don’t think myself capable of accomplishing any of them; I’m just realistic.  Too many resolutions all at once are overwhelming.  I’m more likely to have success if I focus on a few reasonable and attainable goals.

This year, for example, I only gave myself a couple of resolutions.

1) Take advantage of any opportunities to improve and develop as a dancer.

2) Pick up and move to NYC to pursue resolution mentioned above.

By the end of January, I will have completed Resolution No. 2 and will be actively pursuing No. 1.   Yes, reader.  I am moving.  I will uproot my entire life to chase after my dancing dreams in a few short weeks.

I have an opportunity to train with a semi-professional Mexican dance company starting in February.  I visited the company when I was in New York back in August, and I knew I had found what I was looking for.  I didn’t even know I was looking for anything at the time – I was doing research for another project when I found the group’s website and started corresponding with the director.  But I realized as I sat in the airport after going to a rehearsal that my dancing feet had been looking for something and they found it.

In some ways it was an easy decision, but there have been a lot of practical issues that complicated my decision-making.  I have prayed and prayed and prayed about whether or not I should move.  No matter what excuse or reason I came up with, God’s answer has been the same: Go!  Follow your heart and your dreams.  I’ll take care of the details. So I’m going, reader.  I’m really going.  I’m giving up the best apartment ever and my amazing roommate of three and a half years.  I’m giving up my incredible job.  I’m saying good-bye to my beloved family, friends and my wonderful little life just to accomplish my New Year’s resolutions (and follow God’s will).  Eek!!

Picking my resolutions was a quite effortless this year.  Accomplishing them will prove to be otherwise.  I guess it’s a good thing I only gave myself two reasonable and attainable goals to focus on!  I was considering adding a third item to my list – turning my ring over (it’s not as easy as it sounds) – but I won’t push it…

2011 will certainly be an interesting year.  I hope you are prepared, reader, to read about my dancing adventures in New York!

Dancing with Our Lady

No comments yet

Have your say...

