Skip to content

coffee and grace

January 13, 2011

Yesterday, my Facebook status read: “Oh Lord, please get me through these next few days without losing my patience… or my temper… or my sanity… or my dignity…” Between the stress of nonstop training at work and nonstop packing at home and knowing the deadlines for both are only a couple days away, I was on the verge of losing it all.

Lack of sleep does that to me. I had a very short fuse. Everything was getting under my skin. I even had to run to the bathroom a few times for episodes of silent screaming!! I tried to make up for the lack of sleep with caffeine. The constant sipping of coffee helped keep me awake but it didn’t give me more patience or peace of mind. My dear friend Amanda once said, “God is my salvation, not eight hours of sleep… though sometimes He chooses to use eight hours of sleep.” (ref. Psalm 62:1).

This week, I am fully aware that God is my salvation and my strength – not coffee and not eight hours of sleep. But God’s grace and salvation is definitely being poured into my coffee cup. That’s right, the Lord is choosing to use caffeine to get me through these long days, but He is the one keeping me from losing my patience, temper, sanity and dignity. I would never survive moving if it weren’t for God and his gift of coffee – er, grace.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Charles permalink
    January 13, 2011 12:51 pm

    Then again Ps 127 …He pours gifts on his beloved while they slumber.
    I thus command you: TAKE A NAP!!!

Have your say...

