Skip to content

the big upheaval

January 23, 2011

I’ve moved several times since I hit adulthood, but last weekend’s move was different.  I couldn’t just throw everything in boxes and go through the contents at my new place; I had to assess and organize everything I owned before I moved since I was limited as to how much I could bring with me.  My belongings were strewn across the floor for days as they awaited their fate.  Would they end up in the keep pile?  The give-away pile? Or the throw-away pile?  And if they landed in the keep pile, would they go into storage, be entrusted to someone else’s care or make the cut to accompany me to New Jersey?  This move was a true upheaval of my life.

It was exhausting and I almost gave up right at the end.  Most of the decisions mentioned above were already made by the time Moving Day arrived, but I was overwhelmed by how much was left to be done.

“Emily!!!!” I yelled down the stairs to my soon-to-be ex-roommate. “Do you think everyone would hate me if I changed my mind?  I don’t think I can go through with this!!”

Emily came to the bottom of the stairs.  “I think it’s a little too late for that, Cecilia,” she said matter-of-factly.

I sighed and whined, “I know… but I’m so over this whole moving thing!”  I wasn’t really thinking about pulling the plug on my new adventure; I just needed to vent my frustration.

“I’m jumping in the shower.  You should eat something.”  Emily was my non-sympathetic voice of reason that day.

I complied and after breakfast I was able to think straight.  The upheaval continued as planned.  It was stressful, even painful at times, but I did survive.  Somehow everything ended up where it was supposed to, thanks to my trusty movers: Dad, Jeffrey and Adam.  I actually felt pretty good after all that purging and organizing, but I didn’t have much time to reflect on any of that since my Farewell Tour was about to get under way…

No comments yet

Have your say...

