Skip to content

from a castle to a dungeon

January 27, 2011

“Cecilia, do you still live in the Princess Castle?” Joseph Benedict asked when I was having dinner with his family on the Farewell Tour.

I smiled sadly at my little buddy, who isn’t so little anymore being a big boy of 6.  His question made me miss not only the Princess Castle I had just moved out of, but also the wide-eyed lad who, years ago, saw the big blue Victorian house with its glorious turret and asked with breathless wonder if I was a princess since I lived in a castle.  “Su-siya,” he had further inquired after I confirmed that I was indeed a princess, “does that mean you are going to marry a prince?”   Joseph paused and then announced, “I’m going to be a prince when I grow up!”  (He’s already a prince amongst men in my eyes – the little sweetheart!)

The Princess Castle left quite an impression on Joe, and he asked me about it every time he saw me.  I think he enjoyed knowing a real live princess* and being able to say he visited her castle.  It broke my heart a little when I had to tell him that I didn’t live in the castle anymore.

“But you’re still a princess, right?” he asked.

“Yes, Joseph.  I’ll always be a princess.”

Well, I hope Joseph won’t be too disappointed when he finds out that this princess moved from the penthouse of her castle to a dungeon.  I only call it a dungeon because it’s a basement apartment, but honestly it is not even close to what one might consider a dungeon to be.  It’s a fabulous little set-up: the spacious wood floor is perfect for dancing; the proprietors are wonderful; and I don’t have to walk up several flights of stairs multiple times a day (which was rather taxing on my dainty princess feet).

I don’t think any princess would mind being banished to a dungeon if it were anything like my dungeon.  And I don’t think Joseph would mind either, knowing his favorite princess is quite comfortable (aside from being far away from her little buddy).  After all, a princess is still a princess no matter where she lives!

A Princess and A Prince

*My paternal Grandmother descended from an Irish prince.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. melissakoski permalink
    January 28, 2011 12:30 am

    Lovely story and details Cecilia. It’s wonderful to know you are settled into a great place! I read “dungeon” and immediately thought of a NYC basment apartment.

    • January 28, 2011 8:24 am

      Thanks, Lisa! I’m actually in New Jersey with friends. They have a lovely home and have graciously let me invade their dungeon. It’s doubly nice having space but also being surrounded by people I know. :)

Have your say...

