Skip to content

days as a sneezing invalid

March 8, 2011

I was laid up for four and a half days with a terrible cold and sore throat.  I can usually fight these things off before they develop into full-blown colds, but try as I might this one got the best of me.  I finally admitted my defeat Thursday afternoon and deposited myself on the couch.  There I stayed, with the company of Netflix, a supply of TheraFlu and a pint of mango sorbetto, to drift in and out of consciousness, sneezing and coughing, praying for a quick recovery.

I make a rather pathetic invalid, I must admit.  I would groan and grumble whenever I had to get up from the couch to replenish my water supply, warm my tea, make some soup, go to the bathroom, get a tissue, etc.  I would drag my feet as I made my way across the floor.  Sometimes I ended up walking in circles because I couldn’t remember what I had gotten up to do – I was that out of it because of the brain cloud that accompanies head colds.  Ugh!

Woe is me dominated my melodramatic thoughts as I lay under my down blanket.  I didn’t have a fever, but I was still delirious from the massive sinus congestion.  The aching in my head was so intense that my little head couldn’t contain the pain and it traveled into my neck and shoulders.  Every time I sneezed, I was sure the next sneeze would be the death of me.  I honestly thought my head would explode or fall off all together.  The worst was when I had sneezing fits – two or more sneezes in a row.  After those, I would fall back on my pillow and moan, Woe is me! Woe is me!

But not to worry, reader.  I lived to see another day.  I survived the sneezing fits, my head eventually cleared up and my throat is no longer burning.  It was a close call though, especially for such a melodramatic invalid such as myself.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    March 8, 2011 4:56 pm

    Wish I could have been there for you :( , but you know I might have laughed seeing you going in circles. So maybe you should be glad I was not there. Glad your doing better. Now start taking your cod liver oil like you should have and non of this would have happened.LOL

Have your say...

