Skip to content

pretending to stand firm

March 9, 2011

Last week, I confessed that I was rather concerned that I hadn’t gotten any responses to the resumes I’ve been sending out for weeks.  Well, I finally got a call back for an interview on Monday and was actually offered the position.  I turned it down.  I realize this may seem reckless since I don’t have any other prospective positions on the horizon.  Believe me, it was not an easy decision but my pros-and-cons list was quite lopsided, in favor of the cons.

I didn’t tell many people about the interview before it took place, but everyone I mentioned it to has been incredibly supportive of my decision.  One friend commended me for standing firm in my faith, but I don’t feel like I am.  My decision-making process reminded me of bog-jumping in the Secret Swamp: nerve-wracking and treacherous!  I slowly moved from one tottering unstable option to the next before I finally returned to my original bog.  I’m just relieved that I didn’t fall into the murky water between the floating lumps of moss and mud and that I didn’t get stung by making the wrong decision.  Last time I was at the Secret Swamp, I was stung by a bee and my hand swelled to twice it size!!

I have peace about my decision, which may be why it seems like I’m standing firm and trusting that God has a better employment opportunity for me.  But I still feel as unsteady as I did in the Secret Swamp.  Oh well, I suppose a girl needs a bit of wilderness adventure now and again…

One Comment leave one →
  1. R.Cuttle permalink
    March 16, 2011 9:53 pm

    Proud of you dear friend.

Have your say...

