Skip to content

a serious post (for pretend)

April 1, 2011

While talking to a friend the other night, I realized that even with all the breakthroughs I’ve experienced lately I’ve been taking myself way too seriously… again!  Blast it!  If there’s one thing I know it’s that I am no fun when I take myself seriously.  I get all reserved (more so than usual), cautious, worried, and uptight.  I often feel guilty about enjoying life’s pleasures, and my favorite things become struggles instead of usual outlets of expression.  (It is rather difficult to express oneself through writing or dance when one is defensive and tense.)  Ugh!  I can be so tedious sometimes.

Oh, but not any more.  I told myself to get over it and fast!  I know there are things I need to think seriously about, and I will seriously think about them when necessary, but only when necessary.  Christ came that I might have an abundant life (John 10:10).  My abundant life is an adventure so I am going to live it and enjoy it!  After all that is what this blog is all about: to learn to laugh at the days to come.

I laughed at my unemployed days to come yesterday when I finally jumped in the shower around noon.  The morning had been productive by my standards: it included an intense dance workout, several cups of tea, reading an amazing book, a bit of research, and visiting with a friend.  All guilt free.  It was fabulous.  And by 4:30 PM, I was no longer laughing at unemployed days to come; I was laughing at employed days to come!  See what happens when I don’t take myself seriously?

I’ve decided to give up taking myself seriously for the second half of Lent.  This doesn’t mean I’m going to shrug off everything with a “whatever” attitude.  It simply means I’m going to embrace the adventure of the moment with passion and pleasure.  Seriously. (see example below)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    April 1, 2011 10:50 am

    Well, since your Lent’s over ANYWAY… ;)

    Yay for employment!

Have your say...

