Skip to content

confessions of a heavy drinker

April 2, 2011

The last two months have provided me a rare opportunity to see myself up close.  Being out of my normal environment for an extended period of time revealed the foundation of daily life in its simplest form.  I learned a lot about me, and I was surprised to discover that I am quite the drinker.  Before you get concerned and start emailing me info for a local AA meeting, I am not that kind of drinker.  Sure I enjoy an occasional glass of wine, but I’m referring my daily drinking habits and the constant topping off of water bottles, coffee mugs and tea cups.

The heavy drinking started a while back; I just hadn’t realized how intense it had become.  But countless and frequent visits to the bathroom were rather telling.  I was beginning to think something was wrong with me until I noticed that I was surrounded by a plethora of glasses and mugs.  Apparently I can’t survive without two beverages within reach – one hot and one cold – at all times.  The “cold” drink is always water and in truth it is rarely cold.  I prefer my water at room temperature – it’s easier to guzzle.  The hot drink alternates between tea, coffee and hot cocoa, depending on the time of day.  Sometimes I shake things up by adding a muscle-recovery concoction to the mix (whoa, trying not to get all crazy on myself!).  And as I mentioned before, I love having a bit of wine now and again.  Drinker that I am, at least I’m a mostly healthy drinker.

As proof that this is actually an old habit, here are a few examples:

Enjoying a latte - 2011

Delicious tea - 2008

For a pretend Camelback ad - 2009

Camelback Sisters

We Love Camelback Water Bottles!

Celebratory Wine - 2010

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    April 2, 2011 12:21 pm

    I always knew it…

  2. Anna permalink
    April 3, 2011 6:30 pm

    Hahaha. I am the same way! I LOVE my camelback water bottle, and can’t go a day without drinking coffee or tea at some point. I tend to add sugar to my tea and soy milk to my coffee, though….not quite as healthy.

Have your say...

