Skip to content

perfect grown-up answers

April 5, 2011

I started a new job yesterday.  It was quite the whirlwind: I went from jobless to working girl in less than a week!  I sent my resume on Wednesday morning; was called to set up an interview later that day; interviewed on Thursday; was hired on the spot; and started on Monday.  I barely had time to process what was happening.  The lack of over-thinking was both good and bad.  On one hand, I didn’t have time to freak out over my quickly fleeing freedom, but on the other hand I didn’t have much of a chance plan out the first week’s wardrobe. 

I had been hired on the spot even though the company had other interviews scheduled the next day.  The CFO said he didn’t want to take the chance that I accept another position before they completed their process.  On Monday he told me they still met with the interviewees on Friday and had to turn down a highly qualified candidate since I had already been hired.  “But don’t worry,” he assured me.  “You are still the best person for the job.”  He said I gave the perfect answer to one of his interview questions.  I asked what on earth I said that was so perfect.

“When I asked what you wanted to be when you grow up,” he explained, “and what you want for your career, you said, ‘Well first of all I consider myself grown up already,’ and then you told me exactly what you want for the future.  The difference between you and the other girl was she told me what she thought I wanted to hear.  You didn’t try to figure out what I wanted to hear; you just answered the question honestly.  That made it a perfect answer.”  Who knew honesty equaled perfection? 

Of course he was also amused by the fact that I think myself grown up.  But why not?  I’m an adult, aren’t I?  I find it frustrating that I often have to fight for my adulthood.  Being grown-up may not be as romantic and glorious as I thought it would be when I was a young girl, and perhaps that is why so many people loath growing up, but I’m not going to pretend to be something I’m not.  Others can deny it all they want, but at thirty-one I am well into adulthood.  Besides I don’t accept the common misconception that adulthood equals boring, dowdy and uninteresting.  Sure a lot of adults embody that description, but there are many others who are quite the opposite and are able to balance the not-so-fun aspects of adulthood with an exhilarating passion for life.  I’m determined to be among the latter.  (It helps that I learned how to balance in ballet class.)

Anyhow, this particular grown-up is grateful she had a perfect answer to the interview question so she could get back to her adult duties and responsibilities after two month hiatus.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 9:10 am

    Congratulations my friend

Have your say...

