Skip to content

big city adventures

April 7, 2011

Before this week, most of my excursions in Manhattan were limited to rehearsals and interviews, but they still provided plenty of amusing adventures.

Revolving Doors

I’m sure you are wondering how revolving doors constitute as an adventure, but they do… sort of.  You see, I am so not a fan of revolving doors.  I don’t know why, but I just don’t like them.  Back home I would avoid them at all costs, but they are everywhere in New York.  And there have been many times, mostly on my interview adventures, where revolving doors are my only option.  It used to take a good dose of mental encouragement to get me through a revolving door, wincing and cringing the whole time.  That gave way to a determined sigh just before entering the glass triangle.  Now I plunge right in, being fully resigned to the distasteful but necessary (and temporary) confinement.  Progress!  And I like to think of myself as adventurous as I overcome my minor fear of revolving doors.

The Evaded Mutiny

One day last week, I was on my way in for rehearsal.  I left early so I could go make 5:30 PM Mass at St. Pat’s before heading to the studio.  And by early, I mean I left later than originally planned but within the on-time-for-Mass range, which is typical of me.  Just my luck, the bus got caught in traffic.  Now I’d been making this trip consistently for about two months and the traffic seem a bit random for that time of day.  I shrugged it off, reminding myself that I’m still new around these parts.  But the bus ride was taking much longer than normal; there was no way I was going to make it in time for Mass.  I started mentally kicking myself for not leaving the house when I had planned.  But the other passengers started getting antsy too and I breathed a sigh of relief – at least it wasn’t just me.

At first my fellow passengers were grumbling to themselves or to whomever they were talking to on the phone.  They checked their watches and sighed.  Traffic seemed to be faster in the left lane, so the driver moved over and the impatient shifting of weight ceased for a while.  However, the left lane quickly came to a dead halt.  We sat there for several minutes.  Watches and phones were pulled out again to be checked incessantly and sighs could be heard throughout the bus.  I could understand their frustration: a 15-20 minute bus ride was nearing 45 minutes.  Phone calls were made to cancel meetings and postpone plans.

Cars and buses were zipping by in the right lane and that really aggravated folks.  The passengers’ grumbling escalated and they started complaining to each other.  Pretty soon, several passengers were sharing their advice with the driver himself.  I sat in my seat, feet tapping the floor rhythmically in preparation for rehearsal, slightly amused by the mutiny that was sure to arise if the driver didn’t act fast.  Act he did.  Into the right lane we went, and grumbles turned to cheers as the bus finally emerged from the Lincoln Tunnel.  A mutiny was evaded this time, but in a big city there’s always a chance it could happen again…

Quiet On Set!

I walked by a movie set late one night on my way home from rehearsal.  I didn’t think it was big a deal, since I had walked by numerous sets in Grand Rapids.  My favorite part of that adventure was that a woman stopped me half a block away from the set to ask if I knew what was going on.  Considering that she was standing next to equipment trailers and that we could see lights and cameras on the corner, I was surprised she couldn’t figure it out.  I was chatting on the phone so perhaps I looked like a person in the know.  I paused the conversation to quickly convey that they were in the midst of filming a movie, though I wasn’t able to tell her what movie.  As much as I want to pretend that she stopped me because I looked like I knew what was going on, I know she asked because I was the first person to walk by.  Oh well, I’m going to pretend anyway.

To Be Continued…

These are a small selection of my adventures thus far.  And there are many more to be had.  Stay tuned for more…

No comments yet

Have your say...

