Skip to content

stylish easter celebrations

April 26, 2011

As the days of the Triduum drew close, I found myself more and more excited to celebrate the Resurrection.  While this may be seen as normal, I was a little concerned because I was more excited about wearing my brand new Easter dress than anything else.  I had gotten the dress at the beginning of Lent, and it was a true Lenten sacrifice to see it in my closet every day, knowing I couldn’t wear it until Easter.  I always wear something special for Easter, but I don’t know the last time I had a brand new dress.  And it’s not very often I find a dress I can wear right off the rack.

I guiltily searched for accessories during Holy Week.  I was worried that I was indulging my vanity, but the Easter Vigil is the most important liturgy of the year and I wanted to look my best.  I realized that my excitement for Holy Week and the Triduum was bursting into every aspect of my life and was especially noticeable in my attire:

I wore a fun, colorful dress on Palm Sunday in honor of Christ’s triumphant entrance into Jerusalem.   On Holy Thursday, I wore a grey dress in anticipation for the misery to come.  I was “steeped in grief” on Good Friday and since it was chilly, I wore black pants and a deep purple turtleneck. Holy Saturday was spent in limbo.  I was in jeans most of the day as I readied my little home for my Easter guest and readied my little self for the Vigil.

My outer garments were reflecting the sentiments of my soul as I moved through each liturgy, so it is understandable that I was almost giddy at the thought of wearing my beautiful Easter dress.  I wanted to honor Christ’s resurrection by cleansing and perfuming myself as Ruth did when she presented herself to Boaz, and adorning myself like Esther when she threw herself at the mercy of the king.  I wanted my invisible joy in my salvation through Christ’s victory over death to be evident at first glance, made visible by my celebratory garments.

There may have been a few thoughts of vanity mixed in with all my good intentions, but I was really excited about celebrating in style… cause that’s the only way I know how!

With the NYC skyline, after the Vigil

With Larisa, after the Vigil

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    April 27, 2011 5:53 pm

    Ooo gorgeous dress!!! And that skyline….what an amazing backdrop!! Such a gorgeous pic all-around! :)

    Yeah, I know how you feel about dressing up for special church occasions. I don’t see it as vanity. We are women! Our clothes reflect a piece of ourselves, and they can definitely be a way to celebrate! I’ve always enjoyed putting on a favorite dress for Easter. It feels so right!

    • April 28, 2011 9:09 am

      Thanks, Anna! And I’m glad I’m not alone when it comes to celebrating through fashion. :) Happy Easter!

Have your say...

