Skip to content

divine conversations of a single woman

April 27, 2011

Before the start of Holy Week, I was reminded of a conversation I had with the Lord around the time I turned thirty when one of my favorite bloggers posed a question to her readers through the following scenario:

What if an angel appeared before you and told you you would marry the perfect man for you, guaranteed?

You: Yay

Angel: When you’re 51.

She outlined what the rest of that conversation might sound like and then asked her main question: So, poppets, imagine you are for sure getting married at 51. It will be a blow-out wedding. Your spouse will be the handsomest man you have ever clapped eyes on, etc. How are you going to spend your Single life?

The conversation I had was slightly different:

Me: Um, so I’m about to turn thirty, God.  Remember way back when I was twenty-three and you told me that you were calling me to the vocation of marriage?  I think that I’ve been waiting quite patiently, but… um… what’s the status on that?

God: Don’t worry about it.  “Find your delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4 (I love when God quotes scripture to me.)

Me: That’s it?!  That’s my update on the whole marriage thing?  I’ve been finding my delight in you for the past seven years.  You can’t give me a timeframe on when you’re going to give me the desires of my heart?

God: Do you WANT a timeframe?  Don’t you trust that I’ll keep my promise?

Me: Well… I guess I don’t NEED a timeframe… I do trust you.  I know you have worked out all the details… Sigh.  This is taking longer than I expected, so I just want to make sure we’re still on for the whole getting married thing. 

God: Yes, we are.  And I can tell you that your husband is worth the seven years’ wait and more.

Me: (excitedly) Really?  Hurray!!  Wait.  How much more?

God: What if I said thirty years?

Me: But it’s not going to take that long, right?

God: What if it did?  Would you wait?

Me: Thirty years.  THIRTY YEARS!  Ohmigosh!  I’m not getting married until I’m SIXTY?  Seriously?!

God: I didn’t say that.  I’m just asking if you would trust me and wait another thirty years if I told you that’s how long it would take to meet your husband.

Me: What other choice do I have?  Yes.  I’d wait another thirty years if you asked me to.  I might grumble about it from time to time, but You know me, I’m stubborn enough to wait that long.  Are you ASKING me to wait thirty years?

God: Maybe, but don’t worry about.  Trust me.  “Find your delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4  (There he goes quoting scripture again.)

Me: So what am I supposed to do for the next “possible” thirty years?

God: What do you want to do?  What do you think is the best way to find your delight in me?

Well, that is how I eventually ended up moving to New York to further my dance training.  To answer Seraphic’s question: it really doesn’t matter if it takes three years or thirty, I’m going to do what I love, since that’s what God told me to do.  He even quoted scripture to make sure I got the point.  And as we celebrate God’s greatest promise fulfilled in Easter, I am filled with hope that God will give me the desires of my heart… somewhere within the next thirty years.

No comments yet

Have your say...

