Skip to content

disappointing francis

May 21, 2011

photo by Melissa Koski

As I sat alongside the New York City Library Thursday afternoon eating my lunch and enjoying the sunshine, I was approached by several birds and pigeons hoping for a small smackeral of my delectable fare.  They stood at a distance at first, but were soon hopping boldly toward me.  I watched them suspiciously while I continued eating.  I hadn’t stopped stuffing food in my mouth since I sat down.  The previous night’s dance rehearsal had been especially intense and I had tons of calories that I needed to replace.  I was ravenous!

The small flock of birds looked at me, waiting for their share.  I knew I was going to need every last morsel of my lunch and even that wasn’t going to be enough!  My return gaze clearly established that there was no way I was going to part from my much-needed sustenance.

So much for hanging out with Franciscans.  I just can’t seem to put into practice that aspect of their charisms and spirituality.  Don’t get me wrong – I love nature and plants and birds and animals and all of that stuff, but not when it comes to my lunch.  Sigh… St. Francis would be so disappointed in me.

icon c/o From Burke to Kirk and Beyond

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    May 24, 2011 11:22 pm

    You are SO cold-hearted.

    • May 27, 2011 12:25 pm

      As you know from experience. ;) Are you having flashbacks of a large book flying at your head? lol!!

Have your say...

