Skip to content

can i tell you a secret, reader?

July 27, 2011

Today is my birthday.  It’s not really a secret since Facebook has kindly reminded my family, friends and acquaintances of the day’s occasion who might not normally be aware of it.  Since the early hours of the morning, my FB wall has been collecting greetings and well-wishes.  But there are some in my life who are completely unaware of the significance of today, specifically my co-workers.  It’s not that I deliberately kept the information from them; I just didn’t volunteer it.  If one of them asked me if today was my birthday I would gladly confirm their suspicions, but I am enjoying my little secret. 

I am not know for keeping secrets.  Don’t get me wrong, that which is spoken to me in confidence is locked away in the recesses of heart, but when it comes to the covert scheme… well… let’s just say those who know me well know when something is up.  They can see it in my eyes and hear it in my voice while I try to divert their attention elsewhere.  Ugh… It never works.  It’s like I have a neon sign on my forehead that displays whatever it is I’m attempting to hide.  Thankfully, there are only a few people who can see the neon sign.  My co-workers are not aware of its existence so my secret has been safe.  A few have commented on the sly smile that has fixed itself on my face, but they can’t figure out why…

I’m not trying to avoid the reality of turning a year older.  I love life and another birthday means another year of life!  Just yesterday, the ever-wise Auntie Seraphic of Seraphic Singles said:

Old people love to say that you are as old as you feel, but I suspect that we are all the ages we ever were all at once. Right at the core of our personality is a plump little fetus floating about happily without a care in the world. Around her is a one year old baby who is screaming with existential angst. Then around her there’s a two year old around that who wants stuff. Then there’s a three year old who wonders what happens if you pull a dog’s tail really hard. And so on.

I love her concept of being all the ages I ever was at once.  I thought thirty-one layers of me was fantastic, but thirty-two layers?!  Man alive, this getting older keeps getting better and better! 

I’m all about celebrating life, especially my life, but this year I didn’t want a big fuss.  I celebrated with the Musketeers and a couple of friends on Monday before they left yesterday.  My special day has been acknowledged by a plethora of individuals on Facebook, as well as those who are closest to me.  I’ll probably celebrate again with a few friends on Friday, and I’m content with that.  Besides, I kinda like the idea of surprising people with another layer of me.  But that will be our little secret…

Aside – Here’s a special birthday shout-out to the woman who did all the work bringing me into the world thirty-two years ago: Way to go, Mom!  I love you.

photo by Sean Scanlin

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 8:49 am

    Happy Birthday!

    God bless.

  2. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    July 29, 2011 2:42 am

    Gees Thank you my Beautiful Daughter, I would do it all over again, your are very special to me! Love you…. I did do a good job didn’t I…..

  3. July 31, 2011 11:10 am

    Happy Birthday!

    Welcome to the Catholic Blog Directory. I’d like to invite you to participate in Sunday Snippets–A Catholic Carnival. We are a group of Catholic bloggers who gather weekly to share our best posts with each other. This week’s host post is at http://rannthisthat.blogspot.com/2011/07/sunday-snippets-catholic-carnival_30.html

  4. Jeff Baker permalink
    July 31, 2011 1:18 pm

    The Baker’s hope you thoroughly enjoyed your special day…in your new home, no less!

Trackbacks

  1. birthday wisdom « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

