Skip to content

good-bye, zelda

August 8, 2011

I knew moving to New York City would require lifestyle and budget changes.  One of the most obvious changes had to do with my little Zelda.  Having a car in the city would be an added nuisance and expense that I’d prefer not to have, but I’d was attached to my perception of independence that comes with having a vehicle of one’s own as well as being attached to my actual car.  When I made my list of pros and cons for keeping Zelda, the pro list had only emotional reasons and the con list only practical ones.

Sigh…

I knew I had to give her up.  I’d have to say good-bye to my constant companion for the past three years.  But I was comforted by the fact that I was able to keep her in the family.  I sold Zelda to my youngest sister, Rita.

This weekend was my last hurrah with my little Ford Focus ZX5.  Zelda and I said our good-byes on the road between New Jersey and Ohio.  We met up with Rita at the annual Schwartz Family Reunion, where we made the exchange.

My farewell to Zelda was not as hard as the one I had to say three years ago to my first car because I know I will see her again.  It will be weird to see Rita driving her but at least she isn’t out of my life completely.

We’ve had a great run, me and Z.  Good-bye, Zelda.  Take good care of your new driver.  (And Rita, please take care of my Zelda ZX5!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment leave one →
  1. larry ames permalink
    August 8, 2011 7:24 pm

    you are becoming a real new yorker!! but I know you will never lose your grand rapids sweetness!!

Have your say...

