Skip to content

confessed. absolved. reconciled.

August 19, 2011

I slipped into a pew near the altar.  My eyes were still adjusting to the brightness of the sanctuary after being in the dimly lit confessional box, but that wasn’t what was causing them to fill with tears.  It had been a few months since I had seen the inside of the confessional.  I try to go often; unfortunately a busy summer schedule made it a little too easy to forget about or put off.  I hadn’t realized that I had let my priorities slip away from me until last weekend when a good friend and I were in the midst of an intense discussion about such things.  We both took the opportunity to reevaluate major and minor details, and I resolved to start anew by finding my way to a confessional.

Mass had already started by the time I had made my act of contrition, received absolution and been reconciled to my heavenly Father.  I found a pew just before the Gospel, in which Christ was asked which was the greatest commandment.  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your mind and with all your strength. This is the greatest and the first commandment.  The second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” Mt 22:34-40  I thought of the words I had just spoken when I made my act of contrition: Oh my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended you, and I detest all my sins because of your just punishment, but most of all, because they offend you my God, who are all good and deserving of all my love.    It was not fear of judgment and punishment that brought me to the sacrament, but a desire to make amends with the One I love and to be reconciled to Him; to attempt to live the greatest commandment.

No, it wasn’t adjusting to the drastic change of light that brought me to tears but what it symbolized.  I was overwhelmed by the brilliancy of God’s love, mercy and forgiveness.   I remembered why I used to frequent the sacrament and how much I love being confessed, absolved and reconciled.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin Luea permalink
    August 19, 2011 5:01 pm

    I was just thinking that I need to go to confession soon. It’s been too long. Thanks for the reminder. Hugs.

  2. August 23, 2011 11:48 am

    Wonderful meditation on this sacrament – it’s sometimes so difficult to convince yourself to go (the principalities who prowl love to tempt us into thinking it’s inconvenient, embarrassing, or unnecessary) – but it’s so easy, and so restorative – and very necessary. (PS – thanks again for the shoutout to By Way of Beauty!)

Have your say...

