Skip to content

cecilia bedelia and the evacuation

August 26, 2011

Yes, Reader.  I’m evacuating.  I don’t live in an area affected by the mandatory evacuations; this is self-imposed evacuation to New Jersey.  I know Jersey is still in the potential path of Irene, but at least I’ll be further inland than if I stayed in Manhattan.  I figured I’d be better off riding out the storm in the company of others than by myself.  I’m afraid I’d drive myself insane with worry.  I tend to freak out whenever there’s a major storm.  You know the saying, ‘Prepare for the worst and hope for the best.’?  Well, I expect the worst and prepare for it, while hoping that I am wrong about my predictions, but secretly worried that I underestimated the worst case scenario and the storm will exceed my imagined devastation!  Yes, I’ll be much better off with spending the weekend with Karl during the day and my East Coast family at night.  Maybe they can keep me sane… (And I have it on good authority that my EC family is stocked with necessities [ahem… wine]). 

Actually, I had already planned on spending half the weekend in New Jersey.  Now I’ll spend the whole weekend there.  It’s a good thing I no longer have to rush home for Sunday morning dance rehearsal.  An email was sent out today announcing the cancellation.  I wouldn’t have been able to go to rehearsal if I wanted to since the transit system will be shut down beginning Saturday afternoon until an undetermined time on Monday-ish. 

This is my first hurricane, and I am not taking any chances.  I’m hoping for the best and running for the hills, where I’ll take advantage of the extra down time thanks to my self-imposed evacuation and wait out the storm out surrounded by loved ones with a glass of wine in my hand. 

Prayers for all those in the path of the hurricane are appreciated.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bettie McClintic permalink
    August 26, 2011 5:20 pm

    My first experience with a hurricane was in Fayetteville/Ft. Bragg NC. We were 110 miles from the coast and the little bugger came right in the house. Mop, mop, mop. And the wind did blow. Be safe and I’m glad you will be in good company. God bless you real good.

Have your say...

