Skip to content

adventures of c & k: stranded but safe

August 30, 2011

As you’ve heard by now, Reader, my worst of worst hurricane fears did not come to pass, and for that we can all be incredibly grateful.  I myself am especially grateful that I didn’t drive myself crazy thinking of my worst of worst hurricane fears, thanks to my for-the-sake-of-my-sanity self-imposed evacuation.

Karl and I ran several errands after a noon meeting on Saturday.  The rain had already started when we pulled into the driveway at his parents’ house for supper with the family.  By the time we were finished with dessert, conditions had worsened and driving back to my EC family’s house was out of the question.  We had been aware that a situation such as that could arise, so I traveled like a turtle all weekend, bringing all my luggage with me wherever I went just in case we got stranded. 

And we sure got stranded! 

view from the driveway

By Sunday morning, the street was flooded, cutting off access to the world beyond.  The sump pump and a wet/dry vac kept water in the house to a minimum.  We were stranded but safe, and we fared better than most.  Power went on and off for a few hours on Sunday, but it never went out completely, which was a major blessing. 

More adventures to follow…

photo credit: Karl’s sister

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 7:58 am

    Hi Cecilia! I’m Karl’s sister-in-law, and I’m bummed I didn’t get to meet you Saturday night, as I’d hoped. Gah! Boo, hurricane! I can’t believe that picture from the driveway. I mean, I can, because I know it floods, but eek! Glad you’re okay, and hope to meet you for real soon.

    • September 1, 2011 9:13 am

      I’m bummed I didn’t get to meet you too! The flooding was kinda crazy (Just wait to you read the next post about how I got out!), but it could have been worse. Thank heavens it wasn’t! And the time was spent in good company. :) I’m looking forward to meeting you in person, though I’ve enjoyed “meeting you” through your blog.

Have your say...

