Skip to content

post labor day pick-me-up

September 6, 2011

There are few things in life we can control.  The parade of seasons is not one of them.  I used to dread Labor Day for its simultaneous symbolic status as ‘The Last Hurrah of Summer’ and ‘The Beginning of the End’.  Whatever Labor Day symbolizes for you, there is nothing you can do about it, Reader.  Its coming and going is inevitable, along with the change of seasons.  The only thing we can control is our response to said changes.  We can either moan and groan over what we will miss about the previous season or we can revel in the arrival of familiar comforts of the coming season.

I have chosen the latter, as has become my habit of the past few years.  I’m sure the next few weeks will be full of posts about my love for autumn and all its wonders: the football games, the falling leaves, wearing cozy sweaters, tramping around the city in fabulous boots, the football games, rich colors of red, orange and yellow, crisp mornings, etc. 

But as some may be lamenting the end of summer, I thought I’d try to cheer you up with my favorite Halloween commercial.  I typically get annoyed by stores bombarding me with holiday paraphernalia for two months before the actual day (Can we say overkill? One month is sufficient.), but I could watch this commercial year round.  The kid cracks me up and the last line is one the Three Musketeers quote with frequency.  I hope you find this as amusing as I do!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    September 7, 2011 5:20 am

    And you guys still crack me up every time you use it!!

Trackbacks

  1. five hundred sixty-two « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

