Skip to content

the wit of cecilia bedelia strikes again

September 15, 2011

As with any office job, there are several duties that are rather menial and some people would consider insulting to their intelligence.  I don’t mind brainless work from time to time; it gives me a chance to work out a blog post or two.  And I’m not worried about it turning my mind to mush.  In fact, I think it does the opposite, which is proven by the following conversation I had with my boss when I handed him some mail this afternoon:

“I don’t want this,” he said in his typical direct and demanding way.  “And why are you giving it to me?”

“Because I opened the mail today and it has your name on it,” I said in a similar tone.  “Just take it.”

“Oh, ok.  Thanks.  Great job, by the way.”

“What can I say?” I replied, drily.  “I know how to open an envelope.”

He just walked away chuckling and shaking his head.  I heard him  murmur something about “the best decision he’s made in six years”, which is what he told Karl last week when they met – that hiring me was the best decision he’s made in six years.  My boss knew when he hired me that I would be able to open an envelope; little did he know what would happen when I opened my mouth.  Thankfully, he still thinks hiring me was a good decision.

No comments yet

Have your say...

