Skip to content

a blessing and a curse

September 16, 2011

I have a love/hate relationship with technology, as I would suspect most of us do.  I love it when it works, but look out when it doesn’t because I could very well throw the offending piece of technology across the room out of pure frustration. 

The past few days, my work phone has been in jeopardy of being lodged in the wall next to me.  The “new” phone, which is overrun with special features designed to make my job so much easier, is challenging my patience for technology.  Especially after my co-worker and I spent a couple of hours on Tuesday trying to figure out how to add numbers to the speed dial list.  Guess how many numbers we’ve added since then?  Zero.  That’s right, reader.  We couldn’t figure it out.  I even tried using “words” on it, like my grandpa taught me to do, but that didn’t help.  One would think a touch screen phone would be user-friendly, and since we are both quite competent when it comes to phone technology and troubleshooting, we should have been able to muddle our way to a solution even without the missing manual, but not this phone.  I almost beat the thing with its own receiver.  So much for helpful features!

On top of that, I’ve had to contact IT several times this week to figure out why there is a delay when pressing buttons, which results in lost calls and requires three or four attempts to transfer calls because the phone didn’t register the numbers dialed.  It wouldn’t be an issue if those occurrences were sporadic, but this phone likes to be consistent and it consistently doesn’t work the way it’s supposed to.  Seriously, the blasted thing would be just as useful as wall decor as it is when I attempt to answer calls.  IT’s answer was to reboot the phone.  That fix didn’t last long, so now I have to put up with the nonsense until a new phone is ordered and arrives. 

But as I said, technology can be a blessing.  The other night, for example, I was iChatting with my sisters.  It was wonderful to see their beautiful faces from seven hundred miles away, instead of imagining their hilarious facial expressions during our conversation.  I loved every minute of it, that is to say every minute that wasn’t frozen on my screen.  This time around wasn’t so bad, but we still had a few episodes where one or the other of us would say, “Awww man!  Y0u’re pixellated again!  Oh.  Wait.  Now you’re all frozen!  Hold on… Okay.  There you are!”  Frozen screens and pixellated episodes were much more common before I souped-up my ol’ MacDaddy with extra ram.  The upgrade leaves my computer less likely to be hurled out the nearest window… at least for now.

Ahhh… Technology.  It can be the greatest aspect of my life and the bane of my existence at the same time.  A blessing…. and a curse.

No comments yet

Have your say...

