Skip to content

adventures of c & k: the showcase

October 17, 2011

The other night, I found myself standing outside a music studio with my new friend, Roxanne, handing out press packets when someone asked us how we got roped into working the event.  Roxanne smiled and said with a shrug, “It comes with the relationship.”  Inside the studio was Roxanne’s fiance Derek, along with Karl and the rest of the I AM U band members.  The presentation was over, the last song had been played, and the musicians were busy accepting congratulations and well-wishes by the small but impressed audience. 

The showcase was a networking event for the band.  I had known about it for weeks and was excited to finally see Karl perform.  I had heard him play the violin before but performing on stage is not the same as a kitchen serenade.  And I was more than willing to offer my assistance when Karl asked if I would mind helping out.  Roxanne was presented with the same question, which was how we ended up being the hostesses of the evening allowing Karl, Derek, and the others the ability to focus on making the necessary connections. 

It was a pretty successful night.  The guys played a great set!  I don’t usually listen to hip hop or reggae but I really enjoyed the music.  The violin added significant depth to each song.  I’m not just saying that because I’m partial to the one who was playing the violin, but I will admit that I was more drawn to the violin parts than the other instruments.  Don’t get me wrong – the overall sound of band was incredible… There’s just something about that violin that captivates me…

 Karl was in his element both on stage and off, and like I said the showcase was a success.  The audience was awed; connections were made; and Roxanne and I were fabulous hostesses, if I do say so myself.  

After the show with the handsome and talented violinist

The hostesses and their men

Next time on the Adventures of Cecilia & Karl, Karl will be in the audience and I will be on stage!  Stay tuned…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristin permalink
    October 24, 2011 12:04 am

    take a video sometime!

Have your say...

