Skip to content

adventures of c & k: under the sea

October 27, 2011

Shortly after we started dating, Karl showed me an old sketchbook of his filled with ideas, interests and dreams of his youth.  I was fascinated by the glimpse into Karl’s mind.  As he flipped through the book, one drawing caught my eye.  I stopped Karl from turning the page so I could look more closely at an image I hadn’t seen years.  “Ohmigosh!  SeaQuest!”  I cried.  His rendition of the submarine from the mid-90’s science fiction TV show was remarkable.

Karl looked at me in shock.  “You watched SeaQuest?!”

“I loved that show!  Seriously, I had the biggest crush on Jonathan Brandis when I was in high school.”

Karl was flabbergasted.  Not over the fact that I had a crush on the young Jonathan Brandis, but that I actually watched the show.  He must not have believed me when I previously told him I had a geeky side.  I hadn’t thought about SeaQuest in years and I didn’t remember much about the show aside from my crush and the vessel for which the show was named, but Karl was just impressed with the fact that I had watched it.

Fast-forward to Sunday night.

We were watching The Hunt for Red October, and I casually mentioned the strange fact that I like a couple of submarine movies despite my fear of drowning, something that typically deters me from watching ocean based movies or shows.

“Which ones do you like?” Karl asked.

“Well… I like this one,” I said.  “And I liked Crimson Tide.  Oooo, and U-571!”

“Did you watch K-19: The Widowmaker?”

“I did, but I didn’t like it.  I just couldn’t buy Harrison Ford as a Russian.  I think it’s just those three.”

“And SeaQuest,” Karl reminded me.

I grinned.  “Yes, and SeaQuest.”

“We should watch it sometime,” suggested Karl.

“Do you have it?!” I asked.

“No, but it’s on Netflix streaming.”

I gasped. “SEAQUEST IS ON NETFLIX?!  ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!”

Karl laughed.  “No.  We could watch it now, if you want…”

“Could we?  Please?”  If Karl wanted to see my geeky side, she was out in full force.  I was nearly giddy with excitement as I waited for him to locate the show on Netflix.

I wasn’t surprised by how dated the almost-twenty-year-old technology was, but I was surprised by how much of the story line I didn’t remember.  I suppose that made re-watching it all the more exciting because I didn’t know what was coming next.  (Although it didn’t take long for the plot to become predictable.)  Nor was I surprised that the boy character who once made me swoon no longer had that effect, especially when considering the man sitting next to me.  The boy on-screen didn’t stand a chance.

But I was surprised that many of the characters looked incredibly familiar.  I would stare at them from my vantage point on the couch trying to figure out where on earth I had seen them before.  “Seriously, Karl!” I exclaimed, “I can’t for the life of me figure out why those faces look so familiar.  I just can’t place them…”  About two-thirds of the way through the episode, it dawned on me.  “Duh!!!  They probably look familiar because I remember seeing them on the show all those years ago!”

Karl’s sister, Kathleen walked in the room around the same time as my grand revelation and asked what we were watching.

“SeaQuest!” Karl and I announced with huge grins.

Kathleen rolled her eyes but stopped when she saw my smile.  “Wait.  He’s not making you watch this?”

“Nope!” I laughed.

“It was her idea!” Karl said proudly.  Kathleen just shook her head incredulously and walked out of the room, leaving us to our undersea bliss.  Geeky or not, Karl and I didn’t care; we were having a great time sharing a past interest with a present one. 

A short time later, Karl’s other sister Mary came in with their father.  “I heard you’re watching SeaQuest,” Mary said, clearly amused. 

“Yup!” Karl confirmed.  “Cecilia used to love this show back when it aired.”

Mary smiled and murmured something about me being one-of-a-kind.

“No, they’re two-of-a-kind!” their father corrected, confirming what Karl and I had previously discovered about each other, as he settled in his chair to watch the final minutes of the show with us.

I managed to make it to the credits without experiencing shortness of breath or panic or dizziness despite the underwater setting.  (Don’t get any ideas, Karl.  I know they aren’t underwater, but cruises are still out of the question.)  The only ‘under the sea’ adventures we will have in the near future will consist of more SeaQuest episodes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin permalink
    October 27, 2011 9:03 pm

    O my gosh! I used to watch Seaquest too!!! And Jonathan Brandis was such a cutie :)

    • October 30, 2011 3:22 pm

      I’m not surprised, Jean-Claude. Just another reason why we are two peas… :)

  2. November 1, 2011 1:53 pm

    Wow, you totally captured Kathleen, Mary, and their dad. Reading this was like being a very happy fly on the wall :)

Have your say...

