Skip to content

recoginzing the darkness

December 22, 2011

I continually strive to be a woman who reflects the title of this blog, a woman who ‘laughs at the days to come’.  But that doesn’t mean that I distance myself from the harsh realities of life in favor of carefree frivolities.  To do that would be to live a lie.  Laughing at the days to come gives me hope during the most challenging trials.  As light-hearted as this blog can be, it is grounded in a reality that is sometimes callous and confusing, other times temperate and sensible, and always full of hope.  Yesterday, a dear friend wrote a beautifully honest post about her journey through a difficult reality.   

Three months ago today I was visited by darkness.  I don’t want this to sound depressing or remorseful, or pitiful. But it happened.  Darkness attacked me and begged to be recognized. I recognize it and its depravity, loneliness and despair.  Sometimes, many times, it has consumed me, and I wallow in it.  Sometimes it is simply a passing breeze.

We want to connect and be connected to.  Sometimes our desire so consumes us that we attempt to consume another, and that is what happened to me.  A man, perhaps one who has never truly loved, attempted to rape me.  He held a blade to my neck and robbed me.  He cut me, and wanted to take me.  I felt my life at its end and was ready to relinquish it.  But life decided otherwise.  That I should live to tell this story and try to make sense of it all.  (Continue reading…)

Please read the entire post and please remember my friend, Michelle, in your prayers.

No comments yet

Have your say...

