Skip to content

adventures of c & k: the tour heads west

January 7, 2012

The day after Christmas, Karl and I packed our Christmas Holiday Tour into a car and headed west.  Our destination was Michigan.  I admit that driving long distance this time of year is a bit bold, but we had a lot of luggage (One of our stops was in the wilderness so we needed to be prepared for anything and everything).  Plus it was easier for the actual tour part of our tour.  Not to mention, road trips are tons o’ fun especially when you have the best travel companions.  (See photo for example*.)

We got off to a later start than expected, but we made good time.  Karl graciously drove through Pennsylvania, my least favorite part of the journey, and I made sure to introduce him to all the good exits along I-80.  This was our first trip and we were please to discover that we travel well together, which was a relief.

The details of our drive would only be interesting to those in the car, and even then those details are limited to our various conversations.  The drive itself was uneventful.

We arrived at my cousin Kayte’s in time for the extended Schwartz Family Christmas Celebration.  My immediate family wasn’t able to come, but we got to see my cousin, her husband and their kids, all of my aunts, one of my uncles and Grandpa.  It was great visiting with everyone, especially the old man who I happen to adore!  I had warned Grandpa to sharpen his wits before I arrived and we sure made up for lost time!

Kayte and Chris’ house doubled as a Bed and Breakfast for the tour, so Karl unloaded the car after the relatives headed home.  And we settled in for the night…

*Yup, that’s me with my celebrity crush, Kermit the Frog.  He was my Christmas present from Karl. What a guy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Felipa Schwartz permalink
    January 7, 2012 9:42 pm

    What a guy! Who?? Karl or Kermit??

    • January 7, 2012 10:55 pm

      :) It could go either way, but in this case, Karl. (And I probably would have said ‘What a frog!’ if I were referring to Kermit.) lol!

    • Felipa Schwartz permalink
      January 8, 2012 12:42 pm

      I knew that!! LOL

Have your say...

