Skip to content

adventures of c & k: g.r. eateries – part II

January 10, 2012

The only other local restaurant I included in our itinerary was Big O’ Cafe, in downtown Grand Rapids.  I frequented Big O’ when I worked up the street at the law firm.  It became one of my favorite places to eat out, though I sometimes picked up my favorite meal to go – Oil and Garlic Spaghetti with Poached Salmon and Spinach (the latter being my own delicious addition).  I crave the above mentioned dish way more often than I crave Yesterdog, so there was no way I was going to pass up a chance to eat there.  Plus I like supporting local businesses, especially when I know who I’m supporting.

There was no way Karl and I would be able to see all of my Grand Rapids friends with our limited schedule, so I invited them to join us at Big O’.  I knew not everyone would be able to come, but we had a decent turnout.  Bernie, the owner of Big O’ was a gracious host as always in accommodating our large party.  Although our acquaintanceship doesn’t go way back, it does go back a few years, so he was glad I stopped in to say hello.

I unfortunately didn’t take photos of all who came because I was distracted by the cutest member of our party: my goddaughter, Lucia.  Still, the food was amazing (esp. our dessert) and the conversation was fascinating.  Here are a few photos of our evening at Big O’ Cafe:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Note: If any of you Grand Rapidians stop by Big O’ Cafe for one of their delicious Italian meals or their incredible pizza, please tell Bernie that I said hi.

No comments yet

Have your say...

