Skip to content

i couldn’t have said it any better

January 13, 2012

I wanted to comment on the latest YouTube sensation that has been shared all over Facebook regarding faith, love and hate.  But there are a couple of great commentaries already out there, so I’ll just quote and link to them since I couldn’t have said it any better myself. 

Marcel from Aggie Catholics and Marc Barnes from Bad Catholic both mention that there are good aspects of the video “Why I Hate Religion, But Love Jesus” (video can be viewed on the above mentioned blogs).  Marcel begins with a list of excellent points expressed in the video and Marc says, …in all seriousness, the last part of the video is awesome. It’s a darn good explanation of how Christ died for our sins, how we are saved not by our own merits, but by his Grace.  Still there are several issues with specific points that are made.  I will refer you to their posts for further exploration of these concerns: Marcel – Does Jesus Hate Religion? Should You? and Marc – Why I Hate Religion, But Love Jesus – The Smackdown

These are both excellent reads, so please check them out.  Below are a few sample quotes of what you will find:

Marcel: I can’t see how Jesus would hate a set of beliefs, a moral code or ritual observances, when he came to teach us these things. The sermon on the Mount, the Last Supper, the parables, etc. all teach us these things. So, Jesus certainly doesn’t hate them.

Marcel: “Jesus certainly didn’t come to “abolish religion”. You might say he came to complete it, purify it, raise it up, etc. He certainly didn’t want to do away with it. You might remember Jesus saying “I have not come to abolish the law and the prophets, but to fulfill them.” -Matt 5:17″

Marc: “Why is it that following Christ while disdaining religion leads to the direct contradiction of Christ’s teachings? It’s a silliness of modern Christianity, to love Christ partially — “Ah yes, he saved me, died for me, opened the gates of Heaven for me, and I accept him as my personal Lord and Savior, but not what he said about that whole no divorce thing. That was just whack and unloving.”

And my favorite, which explains why I decided to share this information on my blog:

Marc: When a man gains immense popularity by making blanket statements stylistically, how likely is it that his followers will read a rebuttal making specific statements prosaically? I don’t know, but rebut I must, for it is the duty of the Catholic to resist fashion and fads, no matter how unfashionable he looks doing it.

No comments yet

Have your say...

