Skip to content

one year and one week removed

January 27, 2012

It was one year and one week ago that I said good-bye to my family and friends and drove my little car, with all the possessions it could hold, across four states to what would become my new life.  I had no idea what lay before me, though I did have a few hopes and expectations.  Some of those hopes came to fruition much sooner than I anticipated, and while momentous they were also a bit anticlimactic.  A few expectations surprised me by shifting and adapting as I settled into the east coast lifestyle.  It has been quite a journey.

I just want to thank those who helped make my first year in New York incredibly wonderful:

The Temple Family (for their generosity and hospitality)

The Mastriano Family (I never would have survived without my beloved East Coast Family!)

Christopher Temple (for his expert “surviving the City” advice)

Michelle Kafel (my first NYC friend – click!)

Larisa Baron Amaya (a little Grand Rapids in the Big Apple)

Calpulli Mexican Dance Company (esp. Andrea Lujan & Lucy Ledezma Shiba)

The Plaza Family (I went from one great work family to another!)

Jeff Smith, Eric Wertenan, Tim Lykins (It’s nice knowing other Michiganders in the City.)

Fr. Agustino Torres (for his fueling the fire of my love for the arts)

Amparo Garcia (God had great timing for finding me a home and a fabulous roommate.)

The Schlegel Family (for welcoming me with open arms)

Fr. Geno Sylva (for his enthusiastic support)

The St. Paul Inside The Walls Family

The Quadrille Family

All my family and friends (for supporting me from home with phone calls and emails)

and most especially…

Karl Schlegel (for sweeping me off my feet)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 6:22 pm

    Gah! I love posts like this. You and Karl make me so happy :)

  2. Charles permalink
    January 28, 2012 7:21 am

    normally posts like this force me to control my gag reflex…but this was so sweet all I can say is Awwwwww shucks (bashful shuffle of foot).

    Love you and miss you!

    (and when I finally meet him I’ll comment on where your feet ought to be ;o)

    until luego…I meet you in the Eucharist…look for me, I’ll b there.

    Charles (the lesser)

    • Charles permalink
      January 28, 2012 7:22 am

      ***I’ll meet you…***

      (stupid autocorrect)

      • January 28, 2012 9:31 am

        Yeah! Stupid autocorrect! Take that! *shakes fist at the thinks-it’s-all-smarter-than-you autocorrect*

    • January 28, 2012 9:29 am

      LOL! Boy, you is fuuuuuuny! I love ya!!

Have your say...

