Skip to content

adventures of c & k: surprise, surprise

February 8, 2012
tags: ,

Karl was the last person I expected to see step off the elevator at work this afternoon, but there he was, grinning at me through the glass doors.  My heart melted at the sight of him.  Karl hadn’t mentioned that he was going to be in the city today so I was completely surprised.

Coming into the city was a surprise to Karl too but something came up that required his immediate attention.  “And I had to stop by to say hello since I was so close,” he explained as he hugged me tightly.  “I thought about letting you know ahead of time, but decided to take a chance on surprising you.”

I was ever-so grateful that the office was quiet, which allowed us a few moments to ourselves.  “I’m so glad you didn’t call first!  This is the best surprise ever!”  I couldn’t stop smiling.  It is a rare occasion that Karl and I get to see each other during the week; I was beyond elated.

“I brought something for you too.”  Karl’s eyes twinkled with delight as he reached into his bag and pulled out chocolate.

I didn’t think it was possible that my smile could get any bigger, but it did.  “Ohmigosh, Karl!  You. Are. The. Best!”

Karl looked down at me and a shadow came over his face.  “Are you feeling ok, babe?  Your eyes look red…”

I laughed.  “That’s because I’m so happy right now that I could seriously cry!”

Karl grinned as he held me close and kissed my head.  He could only stay for a few minutes, but the double surprise was enough to make my day.  What made it a double surprise, you ask?  Well, Karl was the first surprise of the day.  The second was when I surpsrised myself by preferring being surprised to being notified first.  Surprise, surprise!  And I cherished every minute of it!

Summer Love: One of the first photos of us six-ish months ago.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 11:48 pm

    Ah, this brings back great memories of John surprising me–once with a flower and a card on my car after school. My friend was like, “Where can I get one of those (meaning an awesome guy)?” Those brothers sure know how to make a girl swoon. Have I mentioned I love these posts?

    • February 9, 2012 10:40 am

      That they do, Lindsay! We sure hit the jackpot, didn’t we?! :D Thanks for reading! Someday, I’ll get Karl to write a post or two…

Have your say...

