Skip to content

in life and dance

March 2, 2012

Here’s an excerpt from my most recent post over at Dance Immaculata:

My first year with the dance company was mostly spent in a overwhelmed state, as I adjusted to my new environment, to new expectations, to new choreography, and to new relationships among the dancers.  It was a good year, and I learned a lot, but it was mostly an expansive overview.  When rehearsals resumed after the holidays, we received both general and individual rehearsal notes from the artistic director (A.D.).  And I find, with the beginning of my second year, that I am more settled and am therefore able to focus on specific areas in which I struggle.

The A.D. encouraged me to work on one major area that is lacking in my technique: staying grounded.  Continue reading…

photo by Graeme Malcom

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thing 2 permalink
    March 2, 2012 10:24 pm

    I think it would have been nice if you had put a warning at the top of this post that there is a graphic image of a foot coming out at the reader! Ick! (BTW, we think your fairy goddaughter may have something of a dancer in her… she loves it! And you know she didn’t get that from me!) :)

Have your say...

