Skip to content

surprising spring

March 14, 2012

*My brother, Charles, asked me to write a blog post so he could have something to read and avoid doing work.  This post is dedicated to his laziness.  Sigh… I can’t believe I aiding and abetting this kind of behavior!*

Spring Time Beauty

The end of daylight savings is usually the bane of my existence.  I loathe the day that deprives me of an hour’s sleep.  Springing forward leaves me exhausted and groggy for a good week or two while my body adjusts.

So you can imagine my surprise, Reader, when at the close of the dreaded day, I reviewed the hours and realized it was the most productive day I’ve had in a long time.  There was no Spring-forward-sleep-deprived hangover.  There was no fogginess of mind or dragging of the feet.  Instead, the apartment floors and walls were sparkling; my room was clean; a successful meeting was completed; progress on a project had been made; and the refrigerator had been cleared out and re-stocked.  At the end of it all, I came home from evening mass and enjoyed a bit of wine while treating myself to a DIY mani/pedi.  Wow!

Perhaps it was the warm temperatures, or the bright sun that seeped through the windows longer than usual, or the fact that I feel asleep around 9:30 the night before, or the combination of all of the above.  Whatever it was not only had a positive influence on typically cringe-worthy day, but this whole week (all three days of it) has been great!  (Well, not entirely great – I received somewhat distressing news yesterday (more on that in an upcoming post) – but it’s been mostly great.)  I relaxed in Bryant Park on Monday before rehearsal.  I went outside without a coat for the first time this year on Tuesday.  Even waking up an hour earlier hasn’t been as painful as I would have expected!

The end of daylight savings surprised me this year.  Instead of being the bane of my existence, it seems to have revived me.  I just hope this trend continues.  Yes, even the surprising trend of Spring Forward.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2012 10:59 pm

    This is so refreshing to read. I seriously dislike Daylight Saving Time and it has been every bit as difficult as I thought it would be…but I’m glad to hear someone’s having a good week. ;)

    Glad to have stumbled across your blog tonight! I look forward to reading more!

    • March 19, 2012 10:57 am

      Thanks, Jennifer! I hope your DST adjustment is smoothing itself out.

      And welcome to my little blog! :)

Have your say...

