Skip to content

adventures of c & k: christmas at the gardens

March 22, 2012

As I mentioned earlier this week, Karl and I celebrated a bit of Christmas at Madison Square Gardens when we cheered the New York Rangers to victory over the New Jersey Devils.  How might that be that Christmas made an appearance in March, you ask?  Well, I’ll explain: the hockey tickets were our Christmas gift from Karl’s parents and siblings (John & Lindsay [Jacob], Michael, Joseph, Mary and Kathleen).

I realize I haven’t mentioned my love for hockey on this blog, but I’ve been a hockey fan since the beginning of high school, when I became friends with a pair of sisters who were HUGE Red Wings fans.  I admit I haven’t been the most dedicated fan as of late, but I still love the Red Wings as much as I did back when the Felan sisters taught me all I needed to know about the game of hockey.  Even though I’ve been a fan for years, I had never been to an NHL game.  I had attended plenty of minor league games to cheer on our local Grand Rapids Griffins, but never the NHL.

You can imagine how excited I was to learn that Karl is a lover of hockey!  I nearly swooned when he told me he used to play!  And Karl?  Well, he was beyond thrilled.

We both had one tiny concern: loyalties.  Not only am I a Red Wings fan, but I already had an affiliation to an east coast team.  I became a New York Rangers fan when I lived in Jersey ten years ago, thanks to my friend Josh and his love for the Rangers.  Karl and I were both relieved to discover that, once again, we were of the same heart and mind.  Karl even pulled out his old Rangers jersey from when he was a kid.  Wouldn’t you know?  It fit me!  Karl renewed his promise to take me to a game sometime so I could wear it.  But his family beat him to it and surprised both of us with a gift certificate for Rangers tickets.  *cue excitement, gratitude, elation, bliss, utter joy, and thankfulness*

Giddy with excitement, I met Karl after work on Monday night, decked out in his childhood Rangers jersey, straight leg black pants, a fabulous scarf that coordinated with the jersey, and a pair of adorable peep-toe heels (I may be a sports fan, but I’m still me).  Game Day had arrived!

Oh, reader!  It was incredible!!!  The game was exhilarating, to say the least!  Three fights broke out at the first face off, which set the tone for a very intense game!  Karl and I were on top of the world as we cheered for goals scored, groaned for goals missed, chanted for the men below, and watched the victory unfold before our eyes.  We were both fixated on the ice while the game was in play, but between plays Karl and I would look at each other and grin.  It’s one thing to introduce someone you love to something you enjoy, but it is quite another to share in that same excitement and passion for something with someone you love.  Did I mention that we were on top of the world?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you again, Karl, Theresa, John & Lindsay [Jacob], Michael, Joseph, Mary and Kathleen, for the wonderful and generous Christmas gift!  Karl and I will never forget our first hockey game together.

{And for those who may be wondering… I am still a Red Wing fan through and through!  They are and will always be my first hockey love.}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 5:54 pm

    So glad you guys had such a good time! And CUTE SHOES, lady!

    • March 23, 2012 10:33 am

      Thanks, Lindsay!!! I still get a big goofy grin on my face whenever I think about the game! :D (like that only bigger and goofier) lol!

      I have to admit the shoes were my favorite part of my outfit! Hurray for cute shoes and hockey games!!!!

Have your say...

