Skip to content

adventures of c & k: absence makes the heart grow fonder

April 26, 2012

Karl and I learned this week that we are not fond of absences, but they do make hearts grow fonder by filling them with gratitude.  At least, that’s what happened in our case.  We experienced our first major separation in nine months of dating when a business trip took Karl to California for a week.

I knew the time difference would affect us, especially those morning wake-up calls, but I didn’t think the distance would since we don’t normally see each other during the week.  Somehow the additional miles managed to make our weekly separation all the more tedious.  I expected the weekend to be the most difficult part of Karl’s trip, because that is when we are usually together.  Parts of the weekend certainly lived up to that expectation.  But we endured.  Each painful and sad moment was soothed by joyful ones.  Karl had a wonderful and rewarding trip (exactly how successful is yet to be seen, but it was promising), and I spent quality time with Karl’s family.

Our hearts grew fonder while we were apart, but ultimately we came away with a deepened sense of gratitude.  The distance between New York and New Jersey was dwarfed by the entire width of the country, while our respect for couples in long-distance relationships expanded.  If we had lamented before about only seeing each other on weekends, we realized how blessed we are to have that time.  We are especially grateful for Karl’s family and my East Coast family. Our adventures would be far less frequent without their hospitality.

I was actually grateful that we were used to communicating via phone and text messages and had a routine of daily phone calls already in place.  Not to mention, Karl and I greatly appreciated the technology that allowed us to communicate thousands of miles away.  Rather than sending letters that would take days to reach the other, we could talk whenever time allowed.  We even spent some time Saturday afternoon and Sunday evening video chatting.  Just seeing each other on our computer screens brought so much joy!

Most of all, our appreciation and gratitude for each other increased immensely.  Karl went out of his way to make me apart of the trip by sending me videos.  He took me on tours of where he was staying and introduced me to the people he was with.  It meant the world to me that Karl included me in his adventures!  And knowing how much Karl enjoys surprises, I sent him off with a care package of Reeses’ Pieces and letters to be opened on specific days during his trip, which he loved (I know he did because he thank me for them over and over and over, and when I asked what he wanted to add to this post he said: I was grateful for your thoughtful letters to me throughout the week!).

It was definitely a learning experience for both of us.  We learned about gratitude, the strength of our love, and not taking anything for granted especially each other.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 12:06 pm

    This is so sweet, and there are lots of happy things to comment on . . . but what I really want to say is that I love that “Reese’s Pieces” is one of your tags!

    • April 26, 2012 12:21 pm

      I LOVE REESES! So much so that I told Karl shortly after we started dating that I would never share my Reeses with him… I knew he would appreciate my giving him some. :)

      Thanks for the advice and support throughout the week!!

Have your say...

