Skip to content

cec in the city: episode 9

May 10, 2012

I saw two Missionaries of Charity sisters on Sixth Avenue walking toward me as I headed back to the office after lunch today.  Their white habits were hard to miss among the sea of colorless business suits.  Mesmerized by their beauty, I couldn’t take my eyes off them as the distance between us closed.  The sister nearest me, with her rosary in hand, saw me smiling at them.  She looked at me with the kindest eyes I have ever beheld and smiled back.  We passed each other quickly, as one does in New York City, but the moment moved me to tears – the precious moment between myself and the beautiful bride of Christ, whose eyes were filled to overflowing with love for her Beloved.

One never knows who they will encounter on the streets of NYC.  Today, I encountered Beauty and Love, surrounded by pure white with blue edging.

The first Missionary of Charity ~ Bl. Teresa of Calcutta

(photo credit)

No comments yet

Have your say...

