Skip to content

moving back across the hudson

May 11, 2012

After nine and a half glorious months in Manhattan, this girl is moving back to Jersey.

Moving was not part of my plan, at least not for another year.  I was comfortable and settled in my routine.  It came as quite a shock to me when my roommate, who holds the lease to the apartment, told me that a family situation had arisen and they needed the space – space in which I occupied.  She did everything she could to work out an alternate solution, but no other solution was available.  She gave me plenty of notice – I’ve known since mid-March that I would need to move by July.  Still, the news shook me to the core.  I was devastated and felt utterly betrayed, not by my roommate but by God.  Without a home or a plan, I felt vulnerable and exposed.  Any and all courage I had failed me.

I remember calling Karl in tears after first receiving the news.  “Hey, hey…” he said gently. “We’ll get through this, babe.  I don’t know what’s going to happen or why this is happening, but God will provide.  Tell me what I can do to help.”

I didn’t have a specific answer for Karl at that point.  I was too overwhelmed by fear and anxiety.  If there’s one thing I detest, it’s moving.  It stresses me out to the point of feeling nauseated.  I dread the upheaval of moving, even when it’s in ‘the plan’ and it’s a good move.  This was completely unexpected and I didn’t (and still don’t) understand what good could come of it.  Thankfully, my support system – headed up by Karl – kept me anchored throughout the difficult process of searching for a new home.

I have since reconciled myself to the situation and am determined to make the best of it.  I prayed and prayed and prayed, as did many others, and God led me to an apartment in Weehawken, NJ.  Karl and I checked it out on Tuesday and I’m moving in tomorrow!  Yes it’s very sudden, but the room was available right away and this is our only free weekend in which to move me.  I would have preferred to stay in Manhattan, but I will still be close to work and rehearsals.  (There’s a good chance my commute will be shorter!)  An added benefit is this puts me closer to Karl, which was one of my concerns when considering other locations.

Moving was not part of my plan, but it is obviously part of God’s plan for me.  It has not been easy, yet God provided everything I needed along the way.  And I trust He will do the same when I’m back in New Jersey.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristin permalink
    May 12, 2012 3:08 pm

    Hugs. You’re stronger than you think, sister.

  2. May 12, 2012 7:06 pm

    Yaaaay, New Jersey! Kind of makes you think it’s the Promised Land, right? ;) I hope the move goes well! Good luck and enjoy settling into your new place. God always knows exactly where you need to be.

Have your say...

