Skip to content

adventures of c&k: party for our patron

June 13, 2012

Last year, I made this not-so-desperate plea to St. Anthony on his feast day:

I think I’m going to have to stop at a church after work tonight and find a statue of St. Anthony.  Don’t worry, Tony!  I’m not going to turn the statue upside-down until you find me a husband (tempting though that may be).  Tonight, I’m just praying that you help me find the patience I’ve been lacking; help my heart find healing from past wounds that may be hindering me from recognizing what is truly viable; and help my future husband find the courage and the boldness to act upon the convictions of his heart when he does finally find me.

I also promised to throw a party one year later, no matter the outcome of my request.  It would either be incentive for St. Anthony to try a little harder this year or a celebration for him coming through for me.  Well… if you haven’t figured it out yet, St. Anthony came through.  I was rather impressed with how quickly he came to my assistance.  Karl and I had already met, but it wasn’t until a week after I asked St. Anthony for help that a conversation took place between me and Karl, and things began to develop.  Less than a week, actually.  And somehow, wonder of wonders, we both found the grace, courage, and boldness to act upon the convictions of our hearts.

Ever since then, we’ve described our relationship as being in hyper-drive, on Miracle-Gro, a whirl-wind, and basically every other insanely fast-moving, amped up expression that came to mind.  Through it all, Tony has helped us find and recognize God’s grace.  Even the more chaotic and frustrating moments of the past year have been overflowing with peace and hope.

So welcome to the party!  Today, this blog is hosting a virtual celebration in honor of St. Anthony for surprising me last year with a better-than-I-could-have-ever-hoped response to my plea.  Make yourself at home, stay a while, browse around, dance a bit, and have a drink on the house!  And don’t forget to toast our patron – the wonder-worker and finder of parking spots, hope, keys, love, and the occasional missing shoe – the humble St. Anthony!

 ~

The happiest of couples and your hosts for today’s celebration!

~

Prayer of Thanksgiving Saint Anthony of Padua
Most loving protector, St. Anthony, what gift can I give you in exchange to show my heartfelt gratitude? With your continued help I will show appreciation to you by being more faithful to God, more constant in prayer, and readier to do good to those nearest me. I praise you for the esteem in. which your name is held throughout the world, for the miracles and wonders with which you have filled the Church and the world, and for the many benefits men keep receiving through your gracious help. 
May these intentions convey my great thanks to the triune God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and to our blessed Lady, Queen of heaven and earth. 
Pray the Our Father
Pray the Hail Mary
Pray the Glory Be

Unfailing Prayer to Saint Anthony of Padua
“Blessed by God in his Angels and in His Saints” O Holy St. Anthony, gentlest of Saints, your love for God and Charity for His creatures, made you worthy, when on earth, to possess miraculous powers. Encouraged by this thought, I implore you to obtain for me [your request here]. 0 gentle and loving St. Anthony, whose heart was ever full of human sympathy, whisper my petition into the ears of the sweet Infant Jesus, who loved to be folded in your arms; and the gratitude of my heart will ever be yours. 
Amen. 

Have your say...

