Skip to content

cecilia bedelia gets an education

June 25, 2012

“NVM!” Lindze said to me one night on her recent trip to NYC as we were getting ready for bed.

I looked at her blankly.  “I have no idea what the blazes that means.”

My cousin looked back at me in complete shock.  “You’re kidding, right?”

“No!  I am not versed in the language of text.”

Lindze laughed and then rolled her eyes.  “Nevermind.  NVM.  You seriously didn’t know that?!”

“No.  I always type out every word.  I have no clue what a lot of those abbreviations mean.  I kept seeing SMH on Facebook and it took forever before I figured out that it meant ‘shaking my head’.”

Lindze laughed even harder.

“But,” I continued, “I didn’t figure it out on my own.  Someone had written it out in a comment or something.  And it still doesn’t make sense to me as an expression…”

“OMG, Cecilia!  You are too funny!” Lindze exclaimed.  “That means ohmigosh, by the way (or BTW).”

“Well I know that one!”

When we finally recovered from yet another laughing fit, Lindze offered her translation services for future abbreviation confusions.  I think I might ask her to create a text abbreviation to English dictionary for me so I can study on my own…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sherry in MI permalink
    June 27, 2012 11:28 pm

    The first time I saw LOL I thought it meant “lots of love.” And I wondered why our youth pastor would send me a message ending with LOL. I thought it quite awkward – until my kids told me it meant “lots of laughs” which put an entirely different spin on the message. Yes, I felt very old and quite embarrassed!

Have your say...

