Skip to content

cec in the city – episode 12

July 6, 2012

There is a lot of walking to be done in the Big Apple, which takes a bit of a toll on one’s shoes.  I knew the heels were wearing down on my favorite pair of peep-toes.  But when I left the office at lunch today, something else felt amiss.  I pulled over to the edge of the sidewalk and quickly gave my shoes the once over.  The bottom of the heel was completely missing on my left shoe!  NOOOOOO!!!!!  I wasn’t far from the building so I doubled-back.  I found the missing piece of my shoe just inside the door of the office building.  I snatched it up, stuck it in my purse, and sighed.

I had several errands to run during lunch.  I should have enough time to stop at the drug store, I told myself as I recalculated how much time each errand would take.  My favorite shoes were at stake!  (Ha!  Check out them rhyming skills!)  I wasn’t going to take this lying down!  Nope!  I was going to fix it!

I completed my errands within the time allotted for my lunch break, all the while trying not to put too much weight on my left heel.  Finally settled at my desk, I got to work with the just purchased super glue, the offending shoe, and its stray part.  Reader, I fixed it.  My shoe, once broken, has been made whole, to my great relief!  Mind you, I realize that this isn’t going to last, but the temporary fix should hold me through at least the weekend.  And then I’ll take them to a professional for a more permanent fix.

One thing is certain: I love this city, but I’ll not let it’s streets get the better of me or my shoes, blast it!

~

The surgeon and her patient.

~

The triumphant shoes and their sticky hero!

Cute, aren’t they?  Told you these shoes were worth fixing!

~

By the way, check out my 7 Quick Takes over at Dance Immaculata and check out more at The Conversion Diary!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 7:25 pm

    Um, yes. Cute for sure. Next time I need new shoes, I’m enlisting your help!

Trackbacks

  1. cec in the city – episode 13 « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

